Howdy in the south

42846-blog.jpg

 

Something I will never get tired of is southern hospitality. My hometown is a small, quiet place in Littleville Alabama. Everyone knows everyone and even if they don’t know you, you still get this southern “howdy”.

 

jeep-driver-waving-to-jeep-wrangler.jpg

Across the highway, under that one caution light in the middle of town, sits a railroad crossing that I grew up crossing on a daily bases. This railroad was where I asked my dad why he always “half waved at everyone, even people he didn’t know.”

Every time I drove on of his vehicles I had people constantly giving me this southern hello. I found myself enjoying doing it back. I eventually started doing it to people I didn’t know. Even people walking down the road I would lift my fingers to say hi.

Now, I’m an adult and find myself on a daily schedule where I pass this older gentleman while he checks his mail. I always slow down, smile and give him my southern howdy.

One day he started waving me down as I came closer to him. So, I pulled in his driveway to see if something was wrong. He was smiling very big when he said “Every day I stand down here at the exact same time waiting for your car. I have no family and can not drive any longer. I look forward to you noticing me here. Lately, that boy (my 6 year old son) has even started waving at me. I just wanted to let you know how much it means to me.”

This simple gesture can make a world of difference to a complete stranger. That is exactly what this southern howdy is all about.

So, if you come down to the south, be aware that this southern howdy is contagious.

 

c42d84efaaecfc83642d16aa5f75ff3a.jpg

BaHaBritter

Leave a Comment