“You don’t seem crazy?”

Every morning I see 7 days ahead of me. Each day is filled with 6 pills that’s supposed to make me “better”. You see, I wasn’t blessed with a “normal” brain. I’ve always knew I had mental issues but it wasn’t until my children started school and sports that I realized I couldn’t mentally handle the stress, busy schedule, emotions, and people. I couldn’t keep my “happy mask” on anymore that’s when I decided to seek help. I had no idea what I was jumping into. I especially wasn’t prepared for people’s advice and comments.

“You don’t seem crazy?”
I’m sorry… do you know what’s going on inside my head? I exhaust myself daily to be “normal”. If I don’t seem crazy then I must be doing a good job at pretending to have a healthy brain.

“You just need some sleep”
Thanks! I’ll totally do that! My insomnia is magically gone! I should have talked to you sooner.

“Smoke some pot and chill out”
Great advice I’ll go to Walmart to see if I can find someone selling it in the parking lot!

“You just need to be outdoors more”

Ohhh that will cure me for sure! No more medication! Just bug bites!

“Oh. You have THAT mental illness? Umm should I be scared?”

You should be verrryyyy scared… of that way of thinking! You should keep in mind that I could possibly kill you and totally get away with it… So don’t push me…

“Isn’t that what (insert crazy murder name) was diagnosed with?!”

*sigh* I’m not going to kill you today. Maybe you should thank my medication.

See, mental illness isn’t anything to be ashamed of. I would be more ashamed that I didn’t get help when I knew I desperately needed it. This isn’t the “easy way out” of handling problems. Starting medication is a curvy, dangerous road for mental illness. So if someone you know tells you that they have started medication for their mental health… Simple just ask them if they are ok and ensure them you are their for them through this. They will eventually get better so stick around long enough to meet the person they desperately want to be.

Last but not least…. be thankful if you have a normal functioning brain. Others can’t be that lucky.

Leave a Comment