Dear SweetFace,

Dear sweet face,

The day you graced us with your presence will forever be one of the greatest days of my life! From singing “Push It” to your momma “, to doing a touchdown dance for your first cry. The moment I saw your sweet face I thanked God for you! I knew that moment that I was blessed. I swore to be the best aunt I could be.

“If you ever stop giving me that exciting smile when I walk in the room my heart will break”, I say as you literally jump from your daddy’s arms into mine. You can turn my bad day around just with your eyes. Your loves make the world stop for a moment. To say I’m wrapped around your finger is an understatement!

My promises to you:

I will ALWAYS be a phone call away.

I will support ANYTHING that you dream to become.

I will be your listening ear, shoulder to cry on, or provide any emotional support that you need.

There is no limit I wouldn’t go to protect you.

I will never stop loving you NO MATTER WHAT!

I’m sorry for:

That “ACKK!!!” noise I make when you start to do something bad.

Making you take naps.

Laughing when you trip over stuff.

Embarrassing you in front of your friends.

When I’m hard on you as you grow up, trying to lead you in the right direction.

When I have to be your reality check.

Killing the boys that break your heart.

When I stop you from making a life threatening decision.

Forcing you to respect your parents.

Being the one to step in when your parents are at their wit’s end.

I’m dreading the first time you get mad at me. My heart will shatter, but please know that it would be for your own good. I would never turn my back on you for any reason! But know that I WILL ensure that you know your manners, respect, and follow your dreams. Yes, that means if I have to push you to being mad at me I will never give up on you.

Always remember you are LOVED, you are SMART, you are BEAUTIFUL, you can reach your DREAMS, and you are STRONGER than you realize. Tomorrow is always a new day. Never settle for less. Don’t follow the crowd, but rather help lead it. Always help those who are in need. Be kind to yourself.

With TONS of LOVE,

Your Aunt B.B.

Leave a Comment