What I couldn’t say at my mom’s funeral by Brianna Anderson

Hi I’m Brianna Anderson, I’m 14 I’ll be 15 January 28th. My mom passed away at the age of 36 , five months ago on Monday July 26th 2021. I wanted to speak at my moms funeral and I had the chance to but I didn’t , I was nervous. And i regret it because my mama was one brave person and she would want me to speak… so now I’m writing it on here . Sorry if I get words mixed up or sound confusing .

So my mom was always a sweet person , very loving. She would give someone the shirt off her back and she put everyone else first. She didn’t care about herself as much as she did others . But then again she didn’t let anyone cross her lol. Us kids was her world , i have a twin sister Aubrey and a little brother Cale he’s 6. We all had a very close bond with our mom majority of our life there until the last couple months before she passed. Like I said we was her world , she was a great person and a even better mama.

Even when she wasn’t there she made a point to contacts us and do all she could for us. Which made us even stronger to her . A lot of people judged the person my mama was before she passed , but the real her was the person she was before stuff happened that caused her to pass… anyways , my mama loved her family and friends dearly. Most of my friends that she was close with she considered them her adopted kids , treated them the same as us and loved them bunches as well. Therefore , her passing affected many of us and it affected pretty bad . But her while she was alive impacted our life in good ways .

Me and my mama was best friends , she was my other half and we did everything together especially whenever I was like 10-12. Unfortunately stuff happened she moved into a bad environment which caused her to fall into something she shouldn’t of because it was introduced to her. Then she ended up losing connection with most of her friends and family but she loved them dearly her head was just messed up. That’s when I started to not be as close with my mom , i didn’t want to go to that environment she was in. Which caused us to argue a lot more , and stop being as close. But we was still mother and daughter and that bond was always there.

Her death has hurt me a lot because that’s my mother and any child especially a teenage girl wants her mom here. She was my birth giver , my best friend , my personal diary. I remember we would set up for hours together just talking about life , we would cry together and then she would wipe my tears . I miss her saying “ I love you pumpkin “ , or “ I love you to the moon and back “ , or her calling me her luv bug. I know my mama loved me and I loved her more then she’ll ever know. I wish i could’ve apologized for the stuff I did , but I didn’t get the chance to. But I know she knows I’m sorry.

No matter what path my mother went down or the battles she was struggling I will be and always was her biggest fan. I was so proud of that women , one of the strongest I knew. No matter how much I wish she was here it was her time and god needed her home . I just wish I could talk to my mama … instead of it being in prayers . I wish I could get a hug from her one more time , or her kisses ( that I hated because i hate physical touching lol ) but I loved them secretly . My mama had so much more she should’ve been here for , such as me going into freshman year ( she passed two weeks before I started freshman year ) , I wish she would be here for my prom , homecoming , wedding , when I have children and all of that.

My life will never be the same without my mom and hasn’t been since she passed. I know it’s life and you lose people but I never expected to lose my mom at 14. I have so much hurt built up in me that I just wish would go away but it won’t . But I’m trying and that’s all my mama would want me to do . I have so much I could say , and so much I wish I did say. But I’m going to keep it pretty short , but mama know that I’ll always be your pumpkin , babygirl , luv bug & just your baby in general. I wish you was here but I’ll continue to try and make you proud . I miss you mama , until we meet again. I love you . - Sincerely , Brianna Anderson

Leave a Comment