While I’m Staring At You

Tell me to stop staring at you for the 10th time this morning, I’m still going to watch your every move. I’m not sure when you grew up! Now, I’m afraid to blink again! I’m always waiting to hear “Momma, I need a hug.” In that moment I’ll close my eyes and soak in those precious hugs. I pray you never get too old for my hug. That you still see me as your safe place. That’s one thing you can always count on! I’ll always be your calm when the world gets too loud for you. If you just need me to sit beside you while you break down, I’ll hand you the glue while you are picking up the pieces. I will always be willing to catch you when life pulls the rug out from under you. (And best believe it WILL)
I need you to understand that EVERY time you get mad at me that there’s a lesson behind it. I’m not telling you how to live BUT I am teaching you the fundamentals of this messed up world. These days you are surrounded by people that has a lot of anger. Don’t get caught up in that trend! Love is the only thing that I hope I can teach you. 


I’m far from the “PERFECT” mom. I’m going to be moody sometimes. After all, I can only handle so much DANG POKÉMON and forcing your smelly butt to shower!
 I’m going to force you to do chores that you don’t wanna do. I don’t wanna do them either but, since I gave birth to you, I think you are obligated to take the trash out. Just remember all the times I spent hours scrubbing your whole room trying to find those disgusting smells!
Goodness, being 7 years old is rough. Huh?! I already have a mini teenager! I still can’t shake off the fact you said “LOL” out loud to me! Teenage years are gunna be hard baby boy but believe me when I say they will be MUCH harder on me. When you get your heart broken, mine will shatter too. You won’t believe me, but you will be thankful for those broken hearts one day. 


Second grade is starting in a couple of weeks and I’m SO much more nervous than you are! Probably because I’m gunna have to study more than you just to help with your homework! I know you will do great because I believe in you and I will be right here to MAKE you achieve! (Or at least get you through elementary school)



These are just a few thoughts that your annoying mom is having while she’s staring at you. You are everything to her but you couldn’t possibly understand that right now. You make her so incredibly scared and proud at the same time. She has moments when she daydreams about when you were a baby. The memories of your innocent smile will always be her favorite. If you don’t mind, could you slow down a little bit and be her baby just a little longer? It won’t stop her from staring, but it sure would be easier without that annoying tone in your voice!

Leave a Comment